That I Might See Him

Do you ever get disgusted with yourself? As Christians we have within ourselves that which wants to do nothing but good but then when we see ourselves in the mirror, it is not a pretty sight.

How often do I say to myself?  “Why did I do that?” When even I don’t know there must be a problem.  Would it help any if our thoughts and actions were printed in a news paper for the world to see? Would that then motivates us to do only good? Probably not, we would very likely just rebel and become worse. It is then I would really like the phrases,  “at least I am not as bad as some.”  or  “the lesser of two evils is good.”

In thinking all this over, I think there is only one answer and for sure it is found in the book of Job. By Gods own account, Job was a good man. The problem was or became that Job was so good he became “Self righteous.” When Jobs three friends consulted him and put Jobs catastrophes at Jobs feet, Job rebelled. Jobs friends were wrong in their accusations but Job was not exactly the saint he thought he was.

Job had an awakening in the last chapter of his book.  He had to admit to God some things. God had already told Job just previously that Job lacked much. Listen to what God told Job:

1 ¶ Moreover the LORD answered Job, and said,
2 Shall he that contendeth with the Almighty instruct him? he that reproveth God, let him answer it.
3 Then Job answered the LORD, and said,
4 Behold, I am vile; what shall I answer thee? I will lay mine hand upon my mouth.
5 Once have I spoken; but I will not answer: yea, twice; but I will proceed no further.
6 ¶ Then answered the LORD unto Job out of the whirlwind, and said,
7 Gird up thy loins now like a man: I will demand of thee, and declare thou unto me.
8 Wilt thou also disannul my judgment? wilt thou condemn me, that thou mayest be righteous?
9 Hast thou an arm like God? or canst thou thunder with a voice like him?
10 Deck thyself now with majesty and excellency; and array thyself with glory and beauty.
11 Cast abroad the rage of thy wrath: and behold every one that is proud, and abase him.
12 Look on every one that is proud, and bring him low; and tread down the wicked in their place.
13 Hide them in the dust together; and bind their faces in secret.
14 Then will I also confess unto thee that thine own right hand can save thee. Job chapter 40

Job knew better. Job knew he could not save himself as God pointed out. Job finally got to the point where he knew he lacked much and because Job knew he was so far below God and true righteousness Job blurted out to God that he was a vile sinner. Unworthy and undone.  But Jobs awakening did not come altogether in chapter 40. We must look to the 42nd chapter to get the answer.

1 ¶ Then Job answered the LORD, and said,
2 I know that thou canst do every thing, and that no thought can be withholden from thee.
3 Who is he that hideth counsel without knowledge? therefore have I uttered that I understood not; things too wonderful for me, which I knew not.
4 Hear, I beseech thee, and I will speak: I will demand of thee, and declare thou unto me.
5 I have heard of thee by the hearing of the ear: but now mine eye seeth thee.
6 Wherefore I abhor myself, and repent in dust and ashes.

Our thoughts and deeds printed in a news paper? Job admitted that the holy God knew everything about Job. God knows our everything, good and bad. Yes, we would worry if our thoughts and deeds were printed in a news paper but we should be much more concerned that God knows. Only God can judge you? That should be a burden and alarm around your neck.

Job already knew these things but now Job is awakened:

Verse 5:  “I have heard of thee by the hearing of the ear: but now mine eye seeth thee. “

Oh that I might see God as Job saw Him. Before I do wrong I should be too embarrassed to do such. God should be so apart of me that I would think before I act. When evil thoughts are present I should immediately repent.

D.L. Moody, a man that was greatly used of God once told how that when he had an evil thought while even crossing the street, he would stop in the middle of the street and confess it to God.

Our quest should be too see God as He is. God is holy and perfect in every way. God is so unlike us in holiness that holiness should be a constant desire.

Oh that I might see Him.

John the Apostle had it right when he wrote:

2 Beloved, now are we the sons of God, and it doth not yet appear what we shall be: but we know that, when he shall appear, we shall be like him; for we shall see him as he is.
3 And every man that hath this hope in him purifieth himself, even as he is pure. 1 John chapter 1

How can we become pure and holy? Seeing Him as He is.  While this can not and will not become completely true in this life it certainly should be our desire and quest. We should utter it in our prayers and practice it daily. That is why the Bible should be so apart of us, that we might know Him. That we might see Him as He is. More later as I recall…….

 

    


One thought on “That I Might See Him

Leave a Reply

