Am I normal

Loving the church I attend, a dear lady told me yesterday that her close friend had greatly improved with his self and is getting back to his abnormal self. Talk about a belly laugh, I was beside myself.

According to the dictionary being normal means conforming to certain standards acceptable by most. Having an average that is neither way out there on tangents but instead just being an average person.

In thinking about my self, I guess in some ways I am very average but in some ways below or certainly not adhering to the norm. As an example, though it is getting more popular, I love sushi and in fact it is my favorite choice of food. I guess that would be considered abnormal because I am not in the majority.

Sometimes we get the notion that being normal is good and being abnormal is bad. When it comes to the Bible I would be considered abnormal and I have no intention of changing. I strongly believe the Bible is Gods word, it is the final authority and it is completely up to date. As a matter of fact I believe the Bible is way ahead of the times and no other revelation from God to us is needed. Abnormal for sure but happy in my belief.

My biggest problem is not believing the Bible but in obeying what it says and always doing what is right. When the Bible says there is none righteous, no not one, I can do nothing but plead guilty. Too often I do not trust and do what should be done..

I sure can relate to what Paul wrote:

14 ¶ For we know that the law is spiritual: but I am carnal, sold under sin.
15 For that which I do I allow not: for what I would, that do I not; but what I hate, that do I.
16 If then I do that which I would not, I consent unto the law that it is good.
17 Now then it is no more I that do it, but sin that dwelleth in me.
18 For I know that in me (that is, in my flesh,) dwelleth no good thing: for to will is present with me; but how to perform that which is good I find not.
19 For the good that I would I do not: but the evil which I would not, that I do.
20 Now if I do that I would not, it is no more I that do it, but sin that dwelleth in me.
21 I find then a law, that, when I would do good, evil is present with me.
22 For I delight in the law of God after the inward man:
23 But I see another law in my members, warring against the law of my mind, and bringing me into captivity to the law of sin which is in my members.
24 O wretched man that I am! who shall deliver me from the body of this death?
25 I thank God through Jesus Christ our Lord. So then with the mind I myself serve the law of God; but with the flesh the law of sin. Romans chapter 7:14-25

To sin would be considered normal because the majority sin but in this case being normal and sinning is not good but most bad.

Adhering to what is normal should not be our goal but instead clinging to what is right is in fact the very thing that pleases God. When we sin it DOES NOT please God. When we depart from sin the angels in Heaven rejoice. More later as I recall…….

 

Leave a Reply

