One of the Dearest to My Heart Truths Found in the Bible

The following ranks, in my mind, as the most loved truth found in Gods word the Bible.

Does the Bible have a main theme or subject? Yes, it most certainly does. With over 750,000 words it is remarkable that the main subject matter and theme can be summed up in one word.

The church that I attend is Pastored by my younger brother. He is one of the finest men I have ever known. Unlike myself, he has remained faithful to the book for over 40 years. Not just in his beliefs but in actually practicing what the Bible teaches.

About 3 years ago there would be times when he had a conflict with his schedule and would ask me to take charge of the weekly nursing home service. On this particular occasion there were services back to back at two different locations. Even with a short notice, the Bible makes it easy to find a subject to preach.

On this night I had two ten dollar bills tucked away. Not wanting to give them up, I decided to ask a most difficult question, partly to get their attention and to add a little fun to the service while driving an important point home.

I asked the question: What is the main subject or theme of the Bible. Multiple hands raised. The first person I asked had the correct answer. “Jesus” said the lady. Oops, there went my 10 dollars. I decided the next service to make it more difficult as I really did not want to lose my last 10 dollars.  I asked the same question but emphasized that I was including the old testament. I even suggested some possibilities. Some examples I gave were Prophesy, sin, redemption and so on. Hands were quickly raised. The very first person that I asked replied, “Jesus.” The truth is, I was flabbergasted. There goes my last 10 bucks.

It sure made it easier to preach. I had a captivated audience. It was plain I had nothing new to tell them but it sure was thrilling to demonstrate the truth directly from the Bible.

A book could be written on the subject but in a short article such as this I will offer the following:

The first 5 books of the Bible were written by Moses. Jesus said:

“And he said unto them, These are the words which I spake unto you, while I was yet with you, that all things must be fulfilled, which were written in the law of Moses, and in the prophets, and in the psalms, concerning me.” Luke 24:44

The writings of Moses, the prophets and the Psalms composes the entire Old Testament. The Gospels are about Jesus. The entire New Testament is about Jesus.

Yes, there are many subjects in the Bible, one being Salvation, but surely we can agree,  each subject in Gods word points to Jesus. Jesus is the one who Saves, Jesus is the only one who ever kept the law 100%, Jesus is the law, Jesus is the righteous one. Jesus is the one coming back to judge the world. Eternity will focus on Jesus. Jesus is the only begotten son of God.

How about the Holy Spirit? Jesus said this:

Howbeit when he, the Spirit of truth, is come, he will guide you into all truth: for he shall not speak of himself; but whatsoever he shall hear, that shall he speak: and he will shew you things to come.
He shall glorify me: for he shall receive of mine, and shall shew it unto you.
All things that the Father hath are mine: therefore said I, that he shall take of mine, and shall shew it unto you.    John 16:13-15

The following are some of my favorite Scripture verses concerning Jesus being the main subject matter of the Bible:

1 ¶ In the beginning was the Word, and the Word was with God, and the Word was God.
2 The same was in the beginning with God.
3 All things were made by him; and without him was not any thing made that was made.
4 In him was life; and the life was the light of men.
5 ¶ And the light shineth in darkness; and the darkness comprehended it not.
6 There was a man sent from God, whose name was John.
7 The same came for a witness, to bear witness of the Light, that all men through him might believe.
8 He was not that Light, but was sent to bear witness of that Light.
9 That was the true Light, which lighteth every man that cometh into the world.
10 He was in the world, and the world was made by him, and the world knew him not.
11 He came unto his own, and his own received him not.
12 But as many as received him, to them gave he power to become the sons of God, even to them that believe on his name:
13 Which were born, not of blood, nor of the will of the flesh, nor of the will of man, but of God.
14 And the Word was made flesh, and dwelt among us, (and we beheld his glory, the glory as of the only begotten of the Father,) full of grace and truth. John chapter 1 verses 1-14

Jesus is Gods word, Jesus became flesh, Jesus created everything.

Now get this:

8 “And all that dwell upon the earth shall worship him, whose names are not written in the book of life of the Lamb slain from the foundation of the world.” Revelation 13:8

Who are we going to worship for all eternity? Jesus.

In our time frame Jesus was slain on the cross about 2000 years ago. In Gods time frame it happened before the foundation of the world. Which means, among other things, that folk in the Old Testament got Saved by putting their trust in the yet to come, Messiah, Jesus.

Yes, the book is all about Jesus. Eternity will be all about Jesus.

Jesus is the great “I AM” of the Bible. Jesus said:

6 Jesus saith unto him, I am the way, the truth, and the life: no man cometh unto the Father, but by me.
7 If ye had known me, ye should have known my Father also: and from henceforth ye know him, and have seen him.   John 14:6-7

Notice in these words by Jesus the words “I AM.”

Do you know Him? Do you read your Bible? Have you admitted you are a sinner and put your trust in HIM? More later as I recall…….

P.S. It has been said that as we read the Bible, look for Jesus for He is there. Every book, every chapter, every verse points to HIM.

 

 

Leave a Reply

