Common Thread of People Coming to Christ in the Bible [part 1]

Some say there are different paths to Heaven. Bible believing Christians believe the way is ONLY by coming to Christ I quote Jesus:

4 ¶ And whither I go ye know, and the way ye know.
5 Thomas saith unto him, Lord, we know not whither thou goest; and how can we know the way?
6 Jesus saith unto him, I am the way, the truth, and the life: no man cometh unto the Father, but by me. John 14:5-6

But do people come to Christ in different ways? Is there a common thread that applies to each person? I believe in studying the Bible the answer is yes. Perhaps different circumstances but for sure a commonality among each time it took place in the Bible. Each day for this next week I will attempt to give the many examples and you be the judge as to if I am correct.

                                    The Unworthy Centurion

1 ¶ Now when he had ended all his sayings in the audience of the people, he entered into Capernaum.
2 And a certain centurion’s servant, who was dear unto him, was sick, and ready to die.
3 And when he heard of Jesus, he sent unto him the elders of the Jews, beseeching him that he would come and heal his servant.
4 And when they came to Jesus, they besought him instantly, saying, That he was worthy for whom he should do this:
5 For he loveth our nation, and he hath built us a synagogue.
6 Then Jesus went with them. And when he was now not far from the house, the centurion sent friends to him, saying unto him, Lord, trouble not thyself: for I am not worthy that thou shouldest enter under my roof:
7 Wherefore neither thought I myself worthy to come unto thee: but say in a word, and my servant shall be healed.
8 For I also am a man set under authority, having under me soldiers, and I say unto one, Go, and he goeth; and to another, Come, and he cometh; and to my servant, Do this, and he doeth it.
9 When Jesus heard these things, he marvelled at him, and turned him about, and said unto the people that followed him, I say unto you, I have not found so great faith, no, not in Israel.
10 And they that were sent, returning to the house, found the servant whole that had been sick.

Verse 7 is what I ask you to zero onto. The words came from the centurion, not the servant. Though the centurion was high in rank and had many servants when he beckoned Christ he admitted he was unworthy that Christ so much as enter his house. In other words he saw himself as a sinner before the Saviour. And this my friend is the common thread. I have not totaled up the number of people coming to Christ in the Bible but there are many examples and if you miss the fact that we are ALL no more than sinners in need of forgiveness you will regret it for all eternity. More later as I recall…….

Leave a Reply

