I’m In Trouble

Many seem to live such a smooth life. As I look back, trouble seems to have followed me at every turn of the wheel.

Ran away from school in the first grade. Caught a few blocks from my escape and drug back. Cut from football team lost fights in golden gloves bouts. Teachers in high school unanimously agreed I would never get anywhere in life. Flunked out of college. Later in life, one heart attack, 9 heart vein stents, bad lungs and a host of health problems. Living alone my dog Sam is my best friend.

¶ Have mercy upon me, O LORD, for I am in trouble: mine eye is consumed with grief, yea, my soul and my belly. Psalm 31:9

Yet man is born unto trouble, as the sparks fly upward.
Job 5:7

¶ Man that is born of a woman is of few days, and full of trouble.
Job 14:1

David and Job had lives full of trouble. Trouble follows birth. One trouble solved another waits at the door. Am I discouraged? Am I down cast? Not even slightly. Why? The song writer said it best:

This world is not my home I’m just a passing through
My treasures are laid up somewhere beyond the blue
The angels beckon me from heaven’s open door
And I can’t feel at home in this world anymore
Oh lord you know I have no friend like you
If heaven’s not my home then lord what will I do
The angels beckon me from heaven’s open door
And I can’t feel at home in this world anymore

I have a loving mother just over in gloryland
And I don’t expect to stop until I shake her hand
She’s waiting now for me in heaven’s open door
And I can’t feel at home in this world anymore
Oh lord you know I have no friend like you
If heaven’s not my home Then lord what will I do

The angels beckon me From heaven’s open door
And I can’t feel at home In this world anymore

OR:

What a friend we have in Jesus
All our sins and griefs to bear
And what a privilege to carry
Everything to God in prayer

Oh, what peace we often forfeit
Oh, what needless pain we bear
All because we do not carry
Everything to God in prayer

Have we trials and temptations?
Is there trouble anywhere?
We should never be discouraged
Take it to the Lord in prayer

Can we find a friend so faithful
Who will all our sorrows share?
Jesus knows our every weakness
Take it to the Lord in prayer

I’m not much but I have Him. Not much longer and I shall pass this life with a shout, saying glory to His name. More later as I recall…….Wait, hold on. Must add something:

But the salvation of the righteous is of the LORD: he is their strength in the time of trouble.
And the LORD shall help them, and deliver them: he shall deliver them from the wicked, and save them, because they trust in him. Psalm 37

And call upon me in the day of trouble: I will deliver thee, and thou shalt glorify me.
Psalm 50:15

Gods word works. It sure does. Now I can say, more later as I recall…….

Leave a Reply

